Civil Service Commission

The civil service commission is a three-member commission appointed by the mayor. Commission members serve six-year terms. The civil service commission meets on the first Thursday of each February, May, August, and November at 3:00 p.m.


  • Charles Perry, Chair
  • Dennis Richards, Vice Chair
  • Tom Brown


The commission ensures the fair employment hiring process and equitable disciplinary action for commissioned police officers in accordance with its adopted Civil Service Rules.

Minutes & Recordings